Twitter is the New Help Desk

The other day, I had a revelation about Twitter.

I was getting a nearpod presentation ready for my class.  The presentation was all set and ready to go from the week before, I just had to publish it.  About two hours before my class, I pressed “Publish” and waited… and waited… and waited…

It seemed like something was wrong.  After troubleshooting on my own for a bit and ruling out a problem with my computer and connection, I realized I was going to have to reach out for help.

I pressed the dreaded “Contact Us” button on the nearpod homepage and wrote a message to their help desk about my issue.  Then, I had a brainstorm.  I’d heard of companies who monitor their image on Twitter and thought that I would check to see if nearpod had a presence.  It turns out they have a handle @nearpodhelp so I tweeted at them to see if I would get a response.  All of the following exchange took place within an hour.

Screenshot 2016-03-17 at 11.55.38 AM

During this time, I was still monitoring students as they finished assessments while at the same time solving the problem that would have derailed my afternoon class.  I didn’t have to wait until my 20 minute lunch period right before class to wait on a customer service line.  The response was almost instantaneous, and they were able to solve the problem immediately.

Screenshot 2016-03-17 at 11.59.15 AM

I get why companies do this – twitter is public, so their customer service is visible and transparent.  It’s a very clear win for them in the arena of public opinion.  And, clearly, was a win for me!  I probably would have had to scrap my lesson and throw something together last minute if they hadn’t been able to step in and help.  Thanks @nearpodhelp and thanks Twitter!  I’m a convert.

One thought on “Twitter is the New Help Desk

Leave a Reply

