Nearpod for Dummies

In December, SPICYSCIENCETEACHER convinced you of the wonders of Nearpod.  I know that after reading that post, I wanted to use it in my classroom to deliver seamless instruction and whole group CFUs.  And I did –  but only after hitting some snags.  Read on to find out the easiest ways to get started and how to avoid some of the time-sucking pitfalls that I ran into along my journey to 100% engagement.

Creating a Presentation:

Before you can create a presentation, you have to sign in.  You can choose to create a username and password or you can log in with your google sign in.  That’s easy.

Next, Nearpod asks you what you would like to do.  If you’re trying to make a new presentation for class tomorrow, click on “Create.”

Screenshot 2016-02-18 at 3.27.38 PM

Screenshot 2016-02-18 at 3.29.02 PM

Here’s where these tips come in handy.  I find that creating slides within Nearpod is clunky and awkward.  It requires a lot of maneuvering for not a lot of payoff.  To get around this, I create my presentations in Google Slides first and then add in the CFUs later.

Screenshot 2016-02-18 at 3.31.42 PM

To upload to Nearpod, you need to download your presentation as a PDF.

Screenshot 2016-02-18 at 3.32.40 PM

Then, drag your file to Nearpod.

Screenshot 2016-02-18 at 3.33.56 PM

Screenshot 2016-02-18 at 3.34.06 PM

All of your slides should be added!

Screenshot 2016-02-18 at 3.35.11 PM.png

Adding in CFUs:

Now to the fun part, adding your CFU questions!

To add in a question, click on the space in between the slides you want to insert a question.  Click on Add Slide –> Add Activity –> and click on the type of activity you want.

Screenshot 2016-02-18 at 3.38.17 PM

Multiple choice questions are “Quiz” questions.  I often use “Open End Question” for answers that require typing a sentence.  In science class, we sometimes use “Draw It” and you can draw on a diagram of your choosing.  Many of the other types of questions are reserved for paying subscribers.  In my experience, I’ve found I usually don’t need any more than these three types of CFUs.

Screenshot 2016-02-18 at 3.42.13 PM

Screenshot 2016-02-18 at 3.43.22 PM

Screenshot 2016-02-18 at 3.46.07 PM

 

Tips for Presentation:

I teach 3rd and 4th graders so I’ve found that structuring INM a certain way can make my life and their lives a lot easier.  First, I make sure to type the website nearpod.com on their classwork.  I also include a line that they can write the class code on in case they accidentally click out of the tab.

Screenshot 2016-02-18 at 3.49.06 PM

Elementary students work at all different paces, so I usually keep a completed set of notes on the ELMO and reveal answers as we go along in the presentation.  That way, students are practicing getting information from the computer presentation but can also check to see if their paper is missing anything even if we’ve moved on.

Because the results can be published to the whole class, I also find that answering questions can be time consuming because students REALLY want to get the right answer.  I structure that by having a countdown to when answers need to be submitted.

 

Hope this helps get you started with powerful and engaging INM!  Feel free to leave any other tips and tricks in the comments.

 

Leave a Reply

